COMPANY the Musical

COMPANY the musical
Posting Access:
All Members , Moderated
This is a community for fans of COMPANY, the Stephen Sondheim/George Furth musical. We welcome fans of any and all productions, whether you prefer the original, the recent Broadway revival, or anything in between.


COMPANY opened on April 26, 1970, after seven previews, at the Alvin Theatre, where it ran for 705 performances. The opening night cast included Dean Jones, Donna McKechnie, Susan Browning, Pamela Myers, Barbara Barrie, Charles Kimbrough, Beth Howland, and Elaine Stritch. Dean Jones was replaced by Larry Kert soon after the opening.

The original production received a number of awards and nominations: Tony Award wins for Best Musical, Best Book of a Musical, Best Original Score, Best Lyrics, Best Scenic Design, and Best Direction of a Musical; Tony nominations for Best Actor in a Musical (Larry Kert), Best Actress in a Musical (Elaine Stritch and Susan Browning), Best Featured Actor in a Musical (Charles Kimbrough), Best Featured Actress in a Musical (Barbara Barrie and Pamela Myers), Best Lighting Design, and Best Choreography; a Theatre World Award for Susan Browning; and Drama Desk Awards for Outstanding Book, Lyrics, Music, Set Design, and Director.

Other productions include a 1971-72 national tour, a 1972 London production at Her Majesty's Theatre, Haymarket, a 1995 Broadway revival by the Roundabout Theatre Company, a 1996 London revival at the Donmar Warehouse, a Brazilian production in Rio in 2001, a limited run at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in 2002, and yet another Broadway revival in 2006.

The current revival opened on November 29, 2006, after 34 previews, at the Ethel Barrymore Theatre and closed on July 1, 2007 after 246 performances. It was directed by John Doyle, and the cast members doubled as the orchestra, with orchestrations by Mary-Mitchell Campbell. The cast members included Raúl Esparza, Keith Buterbaugh, Matt Castle, Robert Cunningham, Angel Desai, Kelly Jeanne Grant, Kristin Huffman, Amy Justman, Heather Laws, Leenya Rideout, Fred Rose, Bruce Sabath, Elizabeth Stanley, and Barbara Walsh. It won several awards, including the 2007 Tony and Drama Desk awards for Best Revival of a Musical, and Drama Desks for Raul Esparza (Leading Actor in a Musical) and Mary-Mitchell Campbell (Orchestrations). Other nominations include Tony and Drama Desks for John Doyle as director, a Tony nomination for Esparza, and a Drama Desk nomination for Barbara Walsh as featured actress.
amy justman, angel desai, barbara barrie, barbara walsh, beth howland, boyd gaines, broadway, bruce sabath, charles kimbrough, charlotte d'amboise, company, danny burstein, dean jones, debra monk, diana canova, donna mckechnie, elaine stritch, elizabeth stanley, fred rose, george furth, heather laws, jane krakowski, john doyle, john hillner, jonathan dokuchitz, kate burton, keith buterbaugh, kelly jeanne grant, kristin huffman, lachanze, larry kert, leenya rideout, matt castle, musical theater, musical theatre, musicals, new york city, pamela myers, patricia ben peterson, raul esparza, raúl esparza, robert cunningham, robert westenberg, stephen sondheim, susan browning, theater, theatre, timothy landfield, veanne cox